Tuesday, August 2, 2011

DMCA Warning: the blogsdirectoryhub.com site may be stealing your content

I ran a Google search for this blog this morning and found the entry:

Ask The Blogster - Blogs Directory Hub

This is an illegal copy of my blog. All my posts since January 28, 2011 are there. The site reformatted all posts and all article links have been changed to point to their internal copy of my posts.

Typically with RSS feeds, the title links back to the original feed article. But, this is not the case. Thus, there is a copyright infringement.

Additionally, their Terms and Conditions section states that they only contain blogs and articles from those who have joined the site, become members, and gave permission to reprint the articles.

I have not joined this site and I have not given permission to reprint, use, or steal my content.

This site appears to be a duplicate copy of a site called thebloghub.com, except that their database of articles is not as extensive. That old site was removed from Google and later delisted entirely. At that time, I wrote an article:

Is thebloghub Stealing Your Content? Don't Fall for the Trap!

which describes the situation and what to do.

I now recommend that everyone check this site ( http://www.blogsdirectoryhub.com/ ) to see if you site's content has been stolen. If so, you should file a DMCA complaint as explained in my previous thebloghub article.

Lastly, I am writing this post with the intent that it will be copied in its entirety by blogsdirectoryhub.com as evidence that content is indeed being illegally copied and distributed.

PS: As quickly as I published this article,  it immediately appeared on blogsdirectoryhub.com.


  1. Hey there!

    Upon inspecting the site, it looks like somewhere along the line you may have been using/displaying a CC badge or maybe you indicated on some website or other that you were using one of those "creative commons" licenses... they have your content listed as "You are free:

    * to Share — to copy, distribute and transmit the work"

    So my friend, I think you need to go to creative commons, pick out one of their do not copy type of widgets/badges, install it on your site, and THEN complain that your content is being illegally scraped.

    I'm going to post about this on my blog, so please come over after you have resolved the situation and let me know what happens!

    Good Luck!

  2. I received a comment from a person(s) named Dave Lucas who stated that they would write an article on their blog.

    However, Dave Lucas does not have a public Blogger profile. To avoid spam, I do not approve any comments from authors whose identity cannot be verified.

    Should you wish to have your comment published, please make your profile public and include the url of your blog(s).

    If and when you do, I will write a reply indicating why there is indeed a violation.

  3. Take down! One day after I filed my complaint, this blog was removed from the violating site. Thus, the link (above) to my articles does not work any more.

    I did not follow Mr Lucas' advice because my CC license agreement already contained two other terms that were violated (the Lucas comment did not include them).

    Additionally, I learned the identity of the Dave Lucas who commented, and therefore published his comment to me.

    Once again, I suggest all readers who own blogs to follow my advice in the above article to find out if your content is being illegally copied and portrayed as original

  4. Yikes - I spoke too soon. It appears that the link above does work again, but the blog does not appear in the search. Hmmm.....

  5. My site "MT Herald" too is getting scraped on that splog. I have sent a cease and desist notice to its host. I'm on my way to file a DMCA complaint.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Earn Money - Join the Leading Affiliate Program